A SELECTION OF OUR NANNIES

Marcella K.

I grew up in a large family and helped my mother quite a bit with my younger siblings from a very young age. My parents had a home daycare, so I grew up around children of all ages! I began babysitting at a very young age, and consequently went on to study Child Development at Humboldt State University when the time came. I have a strong

knowledge of child development and child psychology, as well as fifteen years of experience working with children in both a teaching and care-giving capacity.

I have been told that I am a natural when it comes to both teaching and care-giving. I am very intuitive, patient, and kind. I am also reliable, responsible, flexible, clean and organized, communicative, and fun. Safety is always a priority as well. Because I believe that children learn best through play and through hands-on experiences with their

environment, I try to limit tv watching and to encourage play outside whenever possible. I am just as comfortable playing games as I am working with a child on improving their behavior and learning new skills. I like to play and facilitate age-appropriate games and activities with children. I try to encourage self-help skills whenever possible, so that they can become independent and have a sense of accomplishment.. I like to engage children in creative yet structured art projects or in listening to educational music. I believe that being outside in nature, even in an urban setting, calms children and teaches them stewardship of their environment. I enjoy reading with and to children, and in encouraging children to love reading. I also have experience and enjoy teaching yoga to children. I am aware of learning styles and how each child tends to learn best

through one of several avenues. I have worked with children of all ages and abilities. I have experience working with children who have Autism, who speak English as a second language, with gifted children, with twins, and with infants. In my experience working

with babies, I have found Dr. Harvey Karps work to be very helpful in terms of having a happy baby. Every baby is unique and has his or her own personality, but it is nice to be able to have some tools to draw on when caring for a new human being!

Mimi V

Mimi has over 15 years of Nanny experience caring for all ages and is in contact with most if not all of the families she has worked with. Mimi studied at Suny Ithica, and Laney College. Mimi is a wonderful soul! In addition to her years of experience she is sharp, witty, sensible and creative. Mimi has the experience and skills to command a loyal following of families. She is an open and inviting person and looks for the same from the family she works for. Among many passions she currently tutors at risk children and works for a Buddhist foundation. Artistic and creative, she enjoys sharing this with the children she cares for.

Fatima K

Bonjour tout le monde!!

I am 27 years old native french speaker and I would be happy to become your family's nanny! For the past 10 years I have been working with children from ranging from premature twins to age 13. Currently, I am working with a 4 girl until April 11th. They will go back to Canada soon where they are originally from(..Sad..)I am looking for a part time schedule ideally for a position with 25-30hrs/wk. I drive and could help you pick up your kids from school drop them off, prepare snacks, laundry, and light housekeeping in addition to all duties related to the children. I am very experienced with kids am a mother myself of a 4 years old girl that lives in France.

I am good with children I like taking them to the park, library, play dates I don't actually sit around and watch your kids play; I am an active involved nanny, I'm great at setting boundaries and discipline when necessary. I am always on time and great at keeping kids on a schedule. I have a reliable insured car, trust line verified and current CPR certification.

Beth K.

For the past five years I have worked with children in various settings, I started caring for my siblings before working in daycare, preschools, and then as a nanny. I am a caring, loving, funny and responsible person, with the utmost commitment to my position as a childcare provider. I love reading, playing games, puzzles, cooking, getting involved with outdoor activities and being creative with the children in my care. Working with children is priceless-I love being around them kids bring the best out in me. I have always been surrounded by family and children; I understand every child is a precious and a beautiful gift. The best aspect of this career is watching them learn, grow and develop their personalities. I’m currently a part-time student fulfilling my general education credits. I look forward to meeting with your family.

Laurel Y.

I'm an energetic, playful and fun-loving nanny with more than 40 years of experience with children of all ages in home, school and treatment settings. A master's degree in child development is only the technical piece of who I am. In real time and space, I'm guided by an insight about the importance of children's work (play); a belief in the value of enforcing limits with warmth and steadfastness; the power of language to heighten learning; the love of a child's laughter; and a reverence for the stages of development of both family and child as the little one grows. To feel that I have made a difference in the life of a child is my greatest goal.

Lucy S

My name is Nan L. Sehi, and I'm from the Ivory Coast, and moved from the Ivory Coast to the U.S.A. in 1984. I am a mother of 3 grown kids, a girl and 2 boys. I attended some community colleges in Oakland, but did not graduate. I became a nanny in 1988. Most recently I worked with a wonderful family in Orinda for the last 13 years. Prior to that I worked for a family in Piedmont for 7 years. I have experience from newborn through to teenagers. Although, I prefer to start when the kids are babies. I do all varieties of household help in addition to childcare. Thank-you for your consideration!

Kalani K.

I have worked with children for about ten years with ages ranging from infant to teenagers. In the course of my tenure in this field my experience includes working as a nanny, in a school setting with kids from troubled backgrounds and as well as in childcare facilities where my focus was keeping children engaged and active.

I have worked many children in a variety of settings over the years and my favorite thing about this profession is play! I have a youthful personality and I like to play sports, games, tell stories, anything to get laugh or a giggle and at the same time be a positive influence and role model.

Koay S.

My name is Koay and I am a 44 year old career nanny originally from Laos. I live in Richmond with my husband and children ages 15-25.

If my best friend were asked how to describe me best she would say that I am very loyal and giving. I love to share with others what I have and I am very social. I am very quick and fast pace person but detail oriented and a great listener. I teach by example and I am very rational. I am a quick thinker and very friendly person.

I have been a nanny since 1996 all over the Bay Area.

My ideal position would be with an infant, the bond when starting when the children are infants is so special. I also love working with twins or in share care situations as I love to watch children engage and learn from each other. I look for ways I can be helpful to make the transition of going back to work easier for the family.

In addition to child care I have worked as a house manager.

My schedule is flexible but I am looking for Fulltime only.

Thank you for reading this and I look forward to meeting your family!

Gretchen J.

I'm from Oakland, California. I have over fifteen years of nannying experience with newborns, toddlers, school aged children, tweens and teens, and infants with special needs. I worked with several agencies in the bay area, currently I am doing Night Nanny, temporary and fill in for Sweet Peas Agency. My temporary work has given me the unique opportunity to come into a home at a time when parents are most in need. I have a bachelors in Art from UC Berkeley, and an AA in liberal arts from College of Marin. Currently, I live in Berkeley with my fiancé and I am working predominantly as an artist by day.  In addition to child care, I have experience running households, personal assistant and organizer. I am looking forward to meeting you and your family.

Inger O.

I was born and raised in Sweden and I moved to California at the end of 1986.

I have always been passionate about children. When I was about 12 years old I started to baby-sit babies in my neighborhood. I took them out for walks, to the playground and, later, also to the beach. In my middle teens I did a lot of evening and overnight babysitting while the childrens parents were out for date nights and other social events. I still keep in touch with one of the girls I used to baby-sit and she is now in her thirties.

After I moved to California I started working as a nanny. For the last 24 years I have taken care of children of all ages, newborn to 16 years. I have been working for one family for almost 9 years and during those years I have taken care of three newborn babies for them. In the beginning of this year I also became a Certified Newborn Care Specialist.

I have always loved children, but sadly I wasnt blessed with any children of my own. However, I do have a stepson who is now 18 years old. Since I dont have my own children, I have so much more love to give to children in my care.

For me, being a nanny is more than just a job. I feel very lucky to be part of the childrens life and see them grow, change, and learn new things every day.

When I am not working I love to go to the beach, read, go out for dinner with my husband and friends, do scrap booking, and go for runs and walks.

I also enjoy learning new languages. I speak Swedish and English and I have an AA degree in Spanish. I also speak a little German and French.

Saba

I am a 29 year lady originally from Ethiopia. The youngest child with four 4 brothers and I am extremely active! My years of experience with children range from their infancy to teenagers. Always, I try to create a very friendly working environment to make my families happy. My approach to behavior management has always been an active and patient approach, if a child fails to obey or follow the rules, I get down to his/her level and try to explain to him/her as a peer. I feel it is my responsibility as a nanny to model polite, respectful behavior and foster a creative mind-achieve goals and learn to have keen mind and active imagination. I am extremely flexible as well as reliable. I love children and derive much joy from this profession.

Thank-you!